Cognac Hine

Today, the business is managed by members of the family in the 6th generation at the headquarters of the company. The history of the house of Hine began in 1791, when a 16 year old exchange student from Beaminster in Dorset travelled to Jarnac and stayed there. Actually, it should be mentioned at this point that his stay was not entirely voluntary: Just when Thomas Hine wanted to return to England, the war broke out and he found himself unwittingly in the castle prison of Jarnac.

It seems that he got off lightly, because not much later, he voluntarily gave up his freedom once again and got married. Conveniently, the woman he had chosen was the daughter of cognac producer Delamain, and Hine and his wife inherited half of the company including a property in the Charente. This amazing career from student to the owner of a highly successful cognac company has been summarised in a charming way in an official text given out by the Hine company today: "He would discover not only the secrets of the French language but also those of both love and distillation."

The new company was renamed to "Thomas Hine & Co." and, over the years, evolved into a globally known company, the high quality standards of which continue to be valid to this day. Thus, for example, new barrels are first rinsed with hot water and then with cognac before they are filled with the new distillates that are stored in them for eight months. Further maturation takes place in older barrels, and the content is gradually reduced with distilled water to drinking strength already during storage - a particularly gentle dilution method. Only once the optimal maturation has been achieved, the assemblage takes place after which the cuvee is harmonized further in small barrels for up to a year.

It is not least to this diligence that "Thomas Hine & Co." today owes the status of purveyors of the British royal family.
Cognac Hine
Cognac Hine 1981
TOP
390,00 EUR
557,14 EUR per 1 ltr
Cognac Hine 1957
790,00 EUR
1.128,57 EUR per
Show 1 to 5 (from a total of 5 products)

Cognac Hine

In der 6. Generation werden heute im Stammsitz des Hauses die Geschäfte durch Mitglieder der Familie geleitet. Begonnen hatte die Geschichte des Hauses Hine 1791, als ein 16 Jahre Alter Austauschschüler aus Beaminster in Dorset nach Jarnac reiste und dort blieb. Eigentlich muß an dieser Stelle erwähnt werden, daß sein Bleiben nicht ganz freiwillig erfolgte: Gerade, als Thomas Hine wieder nach England zurückkehren wollte, brach der Krieg aus und er fand sich unversehens im Schloßgefängnis von Jarnac wieder.

Offensichtlich ging die Sache glimpflich aus, denn nicht viel später gab er seine Freiheit freiwillig wieder auf, indem er heiratete. Praktischerweise war seine Auserwählte die Tochter des Cognacfabrikanten Delamain, und Hine erbte gemeinsam mit seiner Frau die Hälfte der Firma inklusive eines Areals an der Charente. Diese erstaunliche Karriere vom Schüler zum Besitzer einer überaus erfolgreichen Cognacfirma wird heute in einem offiziellen Text des Hauses Hine mit einem einzigen Satz auf charmante Weise zusammengefaßt:

"He would discover not only the secrets of the French language but also those of both love and distillation."

Das neue Unternehmen wurde in "Thomas Hine & Co." umbenannt und entwickelte sich im Laufe der Jahre zu einer weltweit bekannten Firma, deren hohe Qualitätsmaßstäbe noch heute ihre Gültigkeit haben. So werden z.B. neue Fässer zunächst mit heißem Wasser und anschließend mit Cognac ausgespühlt, bevor sie die neuen Destillate für acht Monate aufnehmen. Die weitere Reifung erfolgt in älteren Fässern, wobei der Inhalt schon während der Lagerung allmählich mit destilliertem Wasser auf Trinkstärke herabgesetzt wird - eine besonders schonende Methode der Verdünnung. Erst nach optimaler Ausreifung findet die Assemblage statt, nach der die Cuvee nochmals bis zu einem Jahr in kleinen Fässern harmonisiert wird.

Nicht zuletzt dieser Sorgfalt verdankt "Thomas Hine & Co." heute den Status des Hoflieferanten des britischen Königshauses.
Cognac Hine
Cognac Hine 1981
TOP
Sehr seltener Jahrgang von Hine!
390,00 EUR
557,14 EUR pro 1 ltr
zzgl. Versand
Cognac Hine 1957
Sehr seltener Jahrgang von Hine!
790,00 EUR
1.128,57 EUR pro
zzgl. Versand
Zeige 1 bis 7 (von insgesamt 7 Artikeln)